April 20, 2008

NHL to Announce Awards Finalists Beginning Monday

From the NHL

"NEW YORK/TORONTO – The list of finalists for each of seven prestigious National Hockey League 2007-08 regular-season awards will be announced beginning Monday, April 21, with the finalists for the Vezina Trophy, which goes to the top goaltender.

The announcement timetable:

Date Award
Monday, April 21 Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)
Tuesday, April 22 James Norris Memorial Trophy (top defenseman)
Wednesday, April 23 Calder Memorial Trophy (top rookie)
Thursday, April 24 Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (skill/sportsmanship)
Friday, April 25 Frank J. Selke Trophy (top defensive forward)
Tuesday, April 29 Hart Memorial Trophy (MVP)
TBD Jack Adams Award (Coach of the Year)

Award winners will be announced in Toronto on Thursday, June 12, as the biggest names in hockey will mingle with stars from the world of entertainment to recognize the top performances from the 2007-08 NHL season at the 2008 NHL Awards Show, airing on CBC and VERSUS.

The Professional Hockey Writers' Association (PHWA) cast ballots for the Hart, Norris, Selke, Lady Byng and Calder Trophies. The 30 NHL General Managers voted on the Vezina Trophy. The NHL Broadcasters' Association (NHLBA) submitted votes for the Jack Adams Award."

I like this idea as opposed to past years when all the finalists were announced at once. Spreading out the announcements over the next week will give everyone something to talk about other than the playoff match-ups (especially if your team isn't still playing).

I've already written a post with my own awards ballot, which will probably include some nominees not on the official ballots released over the next week. I'll post that up right before the actual awards ceremony on June 12.

Until then, it should be fun to see who the finalists are and the debate that will surely ensure regarding who should win and who might have been snubbed.

Ballhype: hype it up!

1 comment:


1) Our picks as we wrote 4/8/08:

Hart: Finalists; Nicklas Lidstrom and Jerome Iginla Alex Ovechkin. Winner Ovechkin

Norris: Finalists:Dion Phaneuf,Nicklas Lidstrom and Zdeno Chara. Winner Lidstrom

Vezina: Finalists: Evgeny Nabokov, Marty Brodeur and JS Giguere. Winer Brodeur.

Selke Trophy: Finalsts: Daniel Alfredsson, Pavel Datsyuk and Patrick Sharp. Winner: Alfredsson.

Lady Byng: Henrik Zetterberg, Pavel Datsyukand Martin St. Louis. Winner: Datsyuk

Masterdon- Jason Blake

Calder: Finalists: Niclas Backstrom, Patrick Kane, Jon Towes. Winner Kane.

Adams: Finalists: Guy Carbonneau, Barry Trotz, Bruce Boudreau. Winner Boudreau.