April 7, 2008

Pierre McGuire's 2007-08 "Monsters"

If there's one thing that TSN broadcaster Pierre McGuire is known for, it's his use of the word "monster" in describing specific hockey players. Every year, he announces his "Monsters" of the year. Think of it as hockey's version of Phil Simms' "All-Iron Team" for the NFL.

Here are his 20 "monsters" for the 2007-08 NHL season.

Martin Brodeur
Stephen Valiquette (backup)

LW-Alex Burrows
RW-David Clarkson
C-Paul Gaustad

LW- Ryan Malone, Pittsburgh
RW- Chuck Kobasew, Boston
C- Jonathan Toews, Chicago
D- Duncan Keith, Chicago
D- Greg Zanon, Nashville

LW- Brendan Morrow, Dallas
RW- Dustin Brown, Los Angeles
C- Mike Richards, Philadelphia
D- Brent Burns, Minnesota
D- Mike Komisarek, Montreal

LW- Alex Ovechkin, Washington
RW- Jarome Iginla, Calgary
C- Vincent Lecavalier, Tampa Bay
D- Ed Jovanovski, Phoenix
D- Dion Phaneuf, Calgary

MONSTER OF THE YEAR: Alex Ovechkin, Washington

Only surprise to me is that Evgeni Malkin did not make the list. How could Geno not be described as a "monster" after carrying the Penguins on his back when Sidney Crosby went down?

Ballhype: hype it up!


Phil said...

He also compares every junior hockey player to Steve Larmer. I can't stand him.

Pensgirl said...

Actually, they called Geno a monster on the TSN broadcast of last Wednesday's Philly game. I can't recall offhand if it was Pierre who said it, but chances are good.